• eLengo is East Africa's farming hub, combining an online community, educational resources and dynamic marketplace to help you reach your full potential.

Guests may browse our forums, but to participate in the conversations you must be logged in. We encourage you to join now- it's easy and it's FREE!

(and it will make this box go away)

Poultry Graduate Abandon Their Respective Degree For Poultry Farming

Oskar Simatwo

My-initial-capital-was-Ksh-170-000-which-I-used-to-buy-1000-broilers-drugs-and-chicken-meals.-...jpg
Jacob Kinuthia is a poultry farmer in Nakuru.

“My name is Jacob from Kiamunyi, Nakuru. I am a poultry farmer, the business I started three years ago after I unsuccessfully hunted for employment in Nairobi. I pursued a Business Administration course from Maseno University and I had hopes of securing a well-paying job. Three years after my graduation, I found myself jobless. I had no option but to look for something to keep me busy, which is why I landed here- poultry farming.

My initial capital was Ksh 170,000, which I used to buy 1,000 broilers, drugs and chicken meals. I kept the chicken for 6 weeks and sold 890 after 11 of them suffered natural attrition.

The proceeds I got from the sale enabled me to buy the second set of chicken—I managed to buy 1000 others and remained with Kshs. 20,000 for savings. Since I started this business, I have managed to save Kshs 720,000 and I am expecting to hit Kshs. 1 million this year.”

Eunice Njeri is also a poultry farmer in Kiambu. She shares her success story:

“Well, I didn’t see myself doing this job at all especially after I joined the University of Nairobi for a teaching degree, but after I was employed by a local school in Kiambu and offered a monthly payment of Kshs. 6,500, I decided to quit for poultry farming.